fbpx
OpenIGO | Internationales Karriereentwicklungsnetzwerk
AFDB-Jobs

Un-Jobs

AFDB-Jobs

Erfahren Sie alles über Jobs und Karriere bei der AfDB!

Die Arbeit für eine Organisation wie die Afrikanische Entwicklungsbank (AfDB) ist eine Chance, die Ihr Leben verändern könnte. Die Organisation kombiniert eine gute Entlohnung mit sinnvoller Arbeit, die Millionen von Menschen helfen kann, ihre Lebensqualität zu verbessern. Sie können einflussreiche Netzwerke aufbauen und erhalten Anregungen zur beruflichen Weiterentwicklung. Darüber hinaus bedeutet die Arbeit für die AfDB eine globale Karriere mit globaler Reichweite in einem multikulturellen und angenehmen Umfeld.

Aus den oben genannten Gründen, neben einem wettbewerbsfähigen Vergütungspaket, der beruflichen Mobilität und der Unterstützung, die erfolgreiche Kandidaten nach ihrer Zuweisung in eine Position im Unternehmen erhalten, sind die Auswahlverfahren für AfDB-Jobs bei vielen Young Professionals sehr gefragt , was sie sehr wettbewerbsfähig macht.

In Erfüllung seiner Mission hat sich das OpenIGO-Netzwerk entwickelt Unterstützungs- und Beratungsdienste, mit dem Ziel, Ihre Erfolgschancen in diesen kompetitiven Auswahlverfahren stark zu erhöhen.

Dazu gehören eine Antragsprüfung und ein Mock-Interview – basierend auf dem ursprünglichen Modell der Afrikanischen Entwicklungsbank.

Wir haben ein spezielles Angebot für Sie vorbereitet!

E-Book zur afrikanischen Entwicklungsbank


AfDB-Übersicht

Die Afrikanische Entwicklungsbank (AFDB) wurde 1964 mit dem Ziel gegründet, das Wirtschaftswachstum und die soziale Entwicklung seiner regionalen Mitgliedsländer (RMC) zu fördern. Als Teil ihrer jüngsten Strategie wird die Bank versuchen, die Probleme in Ländern, die unter wirtschaftlicher Schwäche und Gewalt leiden, anzugehen, die landwirtschaftliche Produktivität zu fördern, um Armut und Hunger sowie Geschlechterungleichheiten, die den wirtschaftlichen Fortschritt in afrikanischen Ländern verlangsamen, zu verringern. AfDB hat versucht, öffentlich-private Partnerschaften, Kofinanzierungsstrategien und Instrumente zur Risikominderung zu stärken, um Ressourcen zu mobilisieren und neue Investitionspartner zu gewinnen.

AfDB's Hauptaugenmerk: Armutsbekämpfung und Förderung des sozioökonomischen Fortschritts auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent.

Themen der AfDB:

  • Zerbrechliche Staaten
  • Landwirtschaft
  • Lebensmittelkontrolle
  • Geschlecht

AfDB-Jobs - Auswahlverfahren

Neben dem breiten Angebot an AfDB-Stellen, die auf der Website , verfügt die Organisation auch über spezielle Auswahlprogramme für einige ihrer Positionen. In diesem Abschnitt stellen wir Ihnen die wichtigsten Auswahlprogramme vor.

1) AfDB Young Professionals Program (YPP)

Die Young Professionals Program der Afrikanischen Entwicklungsbank (besser bekannt als die AfDB-YPP) ist eine jährliche Initiative, die sich auf die Auswahl und Einstellung von angesehenen und hochqualifizierten jungen Fachkräften aus verschiedenen Teilen der Welt konzentriert. Jährlich bewerben sich etwa 8.000 – 10.000 Kandidaten aus AfDB-Mitgliedsländern um eine Stelle als internationaler Beamter bei der Bank. Die ausgewählten Bewerber werden zu einem Weiterbildungsprogramm eingeladen, um eine erfolgreiche Karriere im Unternehmen zu starten. Darüber hinaus ist das AF YPP-Gehalt ein guter Ausgangspunkt für einen jungen Berufstätigen.

Die AfDB YPP-Bewerbung stellt eine großartige Einstiegsmöglichkeit für Fachkräfte mit wenig Erfahrung dar, die ihre Karriere in der Organisation durchstarten möchten. Die Positionen, die Kandidaten, die dieses Auswahlverfahren erfolgreich durchlaufen, angeboten werden, sind Berufseinstiegspositionen und erfordern daher keine umfassende Berufserfahrung.

Um Ihnen zu helfen, im AfDB YPP erfolgreich zu sein, hat OpenIGO Network eine Reihe von AfDB -bezogene Dienstleistungen. Dazu gehören die Überarbeitung Ihrer Bewerbungsunterlagen und ein Probeinterview auf Basis der AfDB Modell des Young Professionals-Programms.

Klicken Sie auf den folgenden Link:

AfDB YPP – Produkte & Dienstleistungen

 

2) AfDB-Praktikumsprogramm

Zusammen mit dem YPP ist die AfDB-Praktikumsprogramm ist der Haupteingang für junge Berufstätige. Ziel des Programms ist es, Doktoranden offene Stellen anzubieten und eine Verbindung zwischen den betrieblichen Bedürfnissen der Bank, dem Bereich, in dem der Praktikant ausgebildet wird, und dem Bedarf des Praktikanten, Berufserfahrung zu sammeln, um eine zukünftige Position zu übernehmen, zu schaffen.

Um mehr darüber zu erfahren, besuchen Sie unsere Seite mit einem Überblick über das gesamte Praktikumsprogramm:

AfDB-Praktika – Übersicht

 

3) Beschäftigung von Kurzzeitpersonal

Unter den beruflichen Optionen der AfDB gibt es je nach Bedarf der Bank eine kurzfristige Option für Personen mit besonderen Fähigkeiten. Insbesondere nach der Rückkehr der AfDB an ihren Sitz in Abidjan eröffnet sich der Institution die Möglichkeit für eine Vielzahl von Funktionen, die nicht direkt mit dem Kern der Bank zu tun haben, aber für konkrete Projekte oder Tangentialaktionen der Bank notwendig sind. Der Einsatz von Kurzzeitpersonal hat drei Ziele:

i. Unterstützung bei zusätzlichen Aktivitäten, die nicht im normalen Arbeitsprogramm vorgesehen sind;
ii. Ersatz von regelmäßig abwesendem Personal;
iii. vakante Stellen innerhalb der von der Bank gesetzten Fristen besetzen.

4) Beratung

Tatsächlich hat die AfDB kein Beratungsprogramm, aber diese Art von Arbeit ist für die Organisation so relevant, dass wir beschlossen haben, hier ein Thema zu diesem Thema aufzunehmen. Beratungsstellen werden aufgrund des Bedarfs einer Organisation angeboten, bestimmte Positionen in einigen ihrer Projekte oder Bereiche zu besetzen.

Die Beratung ist ein hervorragender Einstieg in die Zusammenarbeit mit der Bank. Der Vertrag ist zwar befristet, ermöglicht Ihnen aber die Vernetzung und den langfristigen Kontakt mit der Organisation. Um AfDB-Berater zu werden, müssen Sie zunächst Spezialist in einem ihrer Arbeitsbereiche sein und zusätzliche Kenntnisse in einer der Regionen der Welt haben.

  • Zu den Tätigkeiten der Berater gehören:
  • Verfassen von Berichten und technischen Gutachten;
  • Unterstützung bei der Projektplanung und -entwicklung;
  • Durchführung von Forschungen und;
  • als Berater für Arbeitsteams tätig.

Wer sich für diese Art von Stellenangebot interessiert, sollte die Website der Organisation um die Stelle zu finden, die am besten zu Ihrem Profil passt. Die Mindestanforderungen an Berater variieren von Stellenausschreibung zu Stellenausschreibung, sie setzen jedoch in der Regel einen Hochschulabschluss, fließende Englischkenntnisse und Erfahrung im Arbeitsbereich voraus.

Bereiten Sie in Bezug auf die erforderlichen Unterlagen Ihren Lebenslauf oder Lebenslauf und ein Anschreiben vor, in dem Sie Ihre Qualifikationen darstellen und warum Sie sich für die AfDB interessieren und warum die afrikanische Entwicklung für Sie ein wichtiges Ziel ist.

Als Berater gehören Sie nicht zum Stammpersonal der AfDB, haben aber je nach Vertragsart Anspruch auf einen Organisationsausweis (ID), eine Gehaltszahlung und Zugang zu einigen Leistungen.

AfDB-Jobs - Allgemeine Anforderungen

Bevor Sie sich auf eine Stelle bei einem Unternehmen bewerben, ist es wichtig zu verstehen, welches Personalprofil es beschäftigt und in seinen Auswahlprozessen sucht. Dies wird Ihnen helfen: zu verstehen, ob Ihr berufliches Profil zu den Anforderungen der Organisation passt; vorbereiten, um in zukünftigen Auswahlverfahren bessere Erfolgschancen zu haben und bessere Studienpläne und Bewerbungsunterlagen für Ihre Bewerbung vorzubereiten.

Daher wird in diesem Abschnitt ein Überblick über das Personalprofil der AfDB gegeben, damit Sie besser verstehen können, wonach diese Organisation in ihren Personalressourcen sucht.

1) Bildungsniveau

Im AfDB-Auswahlverfahren ist der akademische Hintergrund des Kandidaten ein entscheidendes Merkmal, das zunächst einen eliminierenden, später einen klassifizierenden Charakter hat. Die normalerweise an der Institution ausgeübte Arbeit weist eine hohe Komplexität auf und erfordert Fähigkeiten, die üblicherweise durch Hochschulbildung in Bereichen wie Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Finanzen, Rechnungswesen und Informatik unter anderem erworben werden.

Da sie für eine Bank arbeiten, beschäftigen sich die AfDB-Mitarbeiter natürlich hauptsächlich mit Themen mit direktem Finanzbezug wie Makro- und Mikroökonomie, Investitionen und Sektoranalysen. Die komplexe Dynamik der Institution mit ihren verschiedenen Aktionsfronten führt jedoch zu einer Ausweitung der fachlichen Qualifikationen ihrer Mitarbeiter.

Ein gutes Beispiel dafür ist der aktuelle inhaltliche Fokus der ADB, der über die ökonomische Analyse hinausgeht, auf die Themen Gender, Umwelt und Stadtplanung. Folglich erfordern auch diese Themen, aber auch solche mit Bezug zum Wirtschaftsbereich, ein hohes Qualifikationsniveau.

Obwohl dies keine Voraussetzung ist, empfiehlt die AfDB ihren Mitarbeitern dringend, neben einem Bachelor-Abschluss einen MBA- oder Master-Abschluss oder eine Promotion in einem anderen Bereich zu absolvieren. Die Exzellenz der an den Auswahlverfahren teilnehmenden Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten macht jedoch eine Empfehlung zur Regel, da Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten mit einem durchschnittlichen Lebenslauf in den meisten Fällen bereits über einen der oben genannten Abschlüsse verfügen.

2) Spezialisierung und Expertise

Seit der Gründung der AfDB haben sich ihre Kernfunktionen im Laufe der Jahre stark erweitert. Folglich wurden neue thematische und sektorale Kenntnisse grundlegend für das operative Tagesgeschäft der IGO. Aktuell hat die AfDB die folgenden 14 Sektoren und Themenbereiche:

  • Landwirtschaft und Agrarindustrie
  • Gesundheit
  • Klimawandel
  • Personalentwicklung
  • Wirtschafts- und Finanz-Governance
  • Informations-und Kommunikationstechnologie
  • Bildungswesen
  • Infrastruktur-
  • Energie & Energie
  • Privater Sektor
  • Umwelt
  • Transport
  • Geschlecht
  • Wasserversorgung & Abwasserentsorgung

3) Berufserfahrung

Bewerber, die in den verschiedenen AfDB-Auswahlverfahren erfolgreich waren, haben in der Regel bereits Berufserfahrung gesammelt. Wenn Sie davon träumen, bei AfDB zu arbeiten, sollten Sie sich um Arbeitserfahrung in Bereichen der internationalen Entwicklung bemühen.

Diese Erfahrungen können bei anderen internationalen Organisationen, Nichtregierungsorganisationen, in der Regierung oder in der Privatwirtschaft gemacht werden. Ihre Rolle kann als Berater, Freiwilliger, Praktikant, Forscher oder Mitarbeiter sein. Sie sollten Erfahrungen im Zusammenhang mit Ihrem Fachgebiet priorisieren und zu den vielfältigen Entwicklungsthemen beitragen, da sich die Bank auf die Bewältigung von Entwicklungsherausforderungen konzentriert.

Ein weiterer zu berücksichtigender Aspekt ist die Bedeutung des Sammelns von Arbeitserfahrung in Entwicklungs- oder unterentwickelten Mitgliedsländern, da sich der Großteil der Arbeit der AfDB auf diese Standorte konzentriert. Dies ist keine Voraussetzung, kann aber einen erheblichen Unterschied machen. Wenn Sie in einem entwickelten Land leben, verpassen Sie daher keine Austausch- oder Praktikumsmöglichkeit in einem Entwicklungsland.

4) Kompetenzen und Fähigkeiten

Bei der Auswahl von ADB sind nicht nur der Bildungshintergrund und die Berufserfahrung wichtig. Die Organisation bewertet die Kompetenzen der Kandidaten während des gesamten Prozesses zu jeder Zeit rigoros.

Daher sollten Sie darauf abzielen, die gewünschten Kompetenzen zu entwickeln, da diese in den verschiedenen Phasen des ADB-Auswahlprozesses bewertet und getestet werden und ein erhebliches Gewicht bei der Bewertung der Recruiter haben.

Im Folgenden listen wir die gängigsten Kompetenzen und Fähigkeiten auf, die von ADB-Experten benötigt werden, um sich auf die verschiedenen Auswahlverfahren vorzubereiten:

  • Technische Expertise
  • Starker akademischer Hintergrund
  • Erste Erfahrungen in Ihrem Beruf
  • Multidisziplinäre Erfahrung
  • Dynamik, Innovation, Kreativität, Integrität, Teamfähigkeit, Ergebnisorientierung und Problemlösungsfähigkeit
  • Urteilsvermögen, Leidenschaft für die Arbeit in einer multilateralen Entwicklungsinstitution und für die Entwicklung Afrikas zeigen]
  • Beherrschung der englischen Sprache in Wort und Schrift
  • Anpassungsfähigkeit an ein multikulturelles Umfeld
  • Kenntnisse in Microsoft Betriebssystemen (PowerPoint, Excel, Word, SAP, etc.)

AfDB-Jobs - Vorstellungsgespräch

Um die Interviewmechanismen der AfDB zu veranschaulichen, haben wir unten die AfDB YPP-Interviewphase verwendet. Beachten Sie, dass andere Möglichkeiten bei der AfDB leicht davon abweichen können.

Der AfDB-Interviewprozess umfasst im Allgemeinen zwei Phasen: a) Interview zur Persönlichkeitsbewertung (online); b) Vor-Ort-Interview (Zentrale der AfDB). In den folgenden Abschnitten werden die Unterschiede zwischen diesen beiden Phasen erläutert.

 1. Online-Einstufungsgespräch zur Persönlichkeitsbeurteilung

Das Persönlichkeits-Assessment AfDB-Interview wird online (per Videokonferenz) durchgeführt und dient als Vorauswahlphase für Longlist-Kandidaten. Diese Phase zielt darauf ab, das Vorhandensein von Soft Skills und allgemeine Aspekte der Persönlichkeit des Kandidaten zu identifizieren.

2. Vor-Ort-Interview (Zentrale der AfDB).

 Nach dem Online-AfDB-Interview werden die Shortlist-Kandidaten zu einem Panel-Interview in die AfDB-Zentrale (Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire) eingeladen, wobei alle damit verbundenen Kosten übernommen werden. Für das Vor-Ort-Interview verwendet AfDB das traditionelle und technische Interviewmodell mit dem Ziel, das technische Wissen der Kandidaten und ihren Bereich über die Operationen und Ziele der Organisation zu testen. 

Den Bewerbern werden in der Regel zwei Arten von Fragen gestellt:

  • Einleitende und traditionelle Fragen (Fragen nach der Hauptmotivation, die den Kandidaten zur Bewerbung bei der AfDB geführt hat oder Fragen zu seiner Erfahrung und seinem beruflichen Werdegang
  • Fachliche Fragen zu ihrem Arbeitsbereich oder Entwicklung und Afrika orientiert

Damit Sie sich sicherer fühlen und Ihre Leistung während des AfDB YPP-Interviewphase, OpenIGO Network hat ein Scheininterview, nach dem AfDB-YPP-Modell, mit einem spezialisierten Fachmann mit langjähriger Erfahrung.

Klicken Sie auf den folgenden Link, um mehr über unseren ADB YPP Mock Interview Service zu erfahren:

AfDB-Vorstellungsgespräch

Durch das weitere Surfen auf dieser Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Lesen Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung

Ich verstehe
en English
X

OpenIGO | International Careers Development Network
AFDB Jobs

Un Jobs

AFDB Jobs

Find out everything about Jobs and Careers with the AfDB!

Working for an organization such as the African Development Bank (AfDB) is an opportunity that could change your life. The organization combines good remuneration with meaningful work that can help millions of people improve their quality of life. You will be able to construct influential networks as well as receive encouragement to develop professionally. In addition, working for the AfDB means having a global career with a global reach, in a multicultural and pleasant environment.

Because of the above-mentioned reasons, in addition to a competitive remuneration package, career mobility, and the support that successful candidates receive once they are assigned to a position at the organization, AfDB Jobs selection processes are highly sought-after by many young professionals, making them highly competitive.

In pursuit of its mission, the OpenIGO network has developed support and guidance services, with the aim of highly increasing your chances of success in these competitive selection processes.

These include an Application Review and a Mock Interview – based on the African Development Bank’s original model.

We have prepared a special offer for you!

african development bank ebook


AfDB overview

The African Development Bank (AFDB) was created in 1964 with the aim of promoting the economic growth and social development of its Regional Member Countries (RMC). As part of its recent strategy, the Bank will seek to tackle problems in countries suffering from economic frailty and violence, to encourage agricultural productivity to reduce poverty and hunger, as well as gender inequalities that slow economic progress in African countries. AfDB has sought to strengthen public-private partnerships, co-financing strategies, and instruments for risk reduction in order to mobilize resources and attract new investment partners.

AfDB’s main focus: Fighting poverty and promoting socio-economic progress on the African continent.

Themes addressed by the AfDB:

  • Fragile States
  • Agriculture
  • Food Security
  • Gender

AfDB Jobs - Selection Processes

In addition to the wide range of AfDB vacancies listed on the institution’s website, the organization also has specific selection programs for some of its positions. We will present the main selection programs in this section.

1) AfDB Young Professionals Program (YPP)

The African Development Bank Young Professionals Programme (better known as the AfDB YPP) is an annual initiative focused on the selection and recruitment of distinguished and highly qualified young professionals from different parts of the world. Every year, about 8.000 – 10.000 candidates, from AfDB member countries, apply for a chance to work as an international civil servant with the Bank. The applicants selected are invited to take part in a professional development program, so that they can start a successful career with the organization. Furthermore, the AF YPP Salary is a good start point for a young professional.

The AfDB YPP application represents a great entry opportunity for professionals with little experience who are looking to kick-start their career at the organization. The positions offered to candidates who succeed in this selection process are entry-level professional posts and, therefore, do not require extensive work experience.

To help you succeed in the AfDB YPP, OpenIGO Network has developed a series of AfDB -related services. These include revising your application documents and a mock interview, based on the AfDB Young Professionals Programme model.

Click the link below:

AfDB YPP – Products & Services

 

2) AfDB Internship Program

Along with the YPP, the AfDB internship program is the main entryway for young professionals. The purpose of the program is to offer vacancies to graduate students, creating a link between the Bank’s operational needs, the area in which the intern is being trained, and the need for the intern to gain professional experience in order to take on future positions.

To know more about it, visit our page overviewing the whole internship program:

AfDB Internships – Overview

 

3) Employment of short-term staff

Among the professional options at the AfDB, there is a short-term option for those who have specific skills, according to the Bank’s needs. Particularly after the AfDB return to its headquarters in Abidjan, the institution has open opportunities for a large number of functions that are not directly related to the core of the Bank, but which are necessary for specific projects or tangent actions of the Bank. The employment of short-term personnel has three objectives:

i. assist with additional activities not projected in the normal work programme;
ii. replacement of regular personnel who are absent over long periods;
iii. occupy vacant positions within the time limits set by the Bank.

4) Consultancy

In fact, the AfDB does not have a consultancy program but this type of work is so pertinent for the organization that we decided to include a topic here on this subject. Consultancy vacancies are offered due to an organization’s need to fill specific positions in some of its projects or areas.

Consultancy is an excellent way of starting a working relationship with the Bank. It is true that the contract is to work for a defined period but it will enable you to network and maintain long-term contact with the organization. Firstly, to be an AfDB consultant, you must be a specialist in one of its working areas, with some additional knowledge of one of the regions of the world.

  • Among the activities carried out by consultants are:
  • writing reports and technical opinions;
  • assisting with project planning and development;
  • conducting research, and;
  • working as a work team advisor.

Those interested in this type of vacancy should search the organization’s website to find the vacancy that best fits your profile. The minimum requirements for consultants vary from vacancy to vacancy but, generally speaking, they require university qualifications, fluency in English and experience in the working area.

With regards to the documents required, prepare your Resume or Curriculum Vitae and a Cover Letter, presenting your qualifications and why you are interested in working for the AfDB and why African development in an important goal for you.

As a consultant, you will not be part of the AfDB’s permanent staff, but will have the right to organizational identification (ID), a salary payment and access to some of the benefits, according to the type of contract signed.

AfDB Jobs - General Requirements

Before applying for a vacancy at an organization, it is important to understand which staff profile it employs and looks for in its selection processes. This will help you to: understand if your professional profile fits with what the organization is looking for; to get ready, in order to have greater chances of success in future selection processes, and prepare better curriculum and application documents required for your application.

Therefore, an overview of the AfDB staff profile will be presented in this section, so that you will be able to gain a better understanding of what this organization looks for in its human resources.

1) Educational Level

In the AfDB selection process, the candidate’s academic background is a crucial attribute, having at first an eliminatory character, and later a classificatory one. The work normally carried out at the institution possesses a high level of complexity, demanding skills that are commonly obtained through higher education in areas such as economics, finance, accounting, and computer science, among others.

As they work for a bank, naturally, most of the AfDB staff’s daily activities involve topics directly related to finance, such as macro and microeconomics, investments, and sector analysis. However, the complex dynamics of the institution, with its several fronts of action, result in an expansion of the professional qualifications needed of its staff.

A good example of this is ADB’s recent substantive focus, which goes beyond economic analysis, on issues of gender, environment and urban planning. Consequently, these themes, as well as those related to the economic sphere, also require a high level of qualification.

While not a requirement, AfDB highly recommends that its staff, in addition to a bachelor’s degree, hold degrees at the MBA or a master’s, or doctoral degree in another field. However, the excellence of candidates who participate in the selection processes makes recommendation the rule, since in most cases, candidates with CVs considered average already possess one of the above-mentioned degrees.

2) Areas of Specialization and Expertise

Since AfDB’s creation, its core functions have expanded greatly throughout the years. Consequently, new thematic and sectorial knowledge became fundamental for the IGO’s operational day-to-day. Currently, AfDB has the following 14 sectors and thematic areas:

  • Agriculture and Agro-industries
  • Health
  • Climate Change
  • Human Capital Development
  • Economics & Finance Governance
  • Information & Communication Technology
  • Education
  • Infrastructure
  • Energy & Power
  • Private Sector
  • Environment
  • Transport
  • Gender
  • Water Supply & Sanitation

3) Professional Experience

Generally speaking, candidates who are successful in the various AfDB selection processes have had some prior work experience. If your dream is to work for AfDB, you should look to gain work experience in areas related to international development.

These experiences may take place at other international organizations, non-governmental organizations, in the government, or in the private sector. Your role may be as a consultant, volunteer, intern, researcher, or staff member. You should prioritize experiences linked to your area of expertise and contribute to the wide range of development topics, since the bank focuses on addressing development challenges.

Another aspect to consider is the importance of gaining work experience in developing or under-developed member countries, as most of AfDB’s work focuses on these locations. This is not a requirement but could make a significant difference. Therefore, if you live in a developed country, do not miss an exchange or internship opportunity in a developing country.

4) Competencies and Skills

It is not just educational background and professional experience that are important in ADB’s selections. The organization rigorously assesses candidates’ competencies at all times during the process.

Therefore, you should aim to develop the desired competencies, as they will be evaluated and tested during the various stages of the ADB selection process and have significant weight in the recruiters’ evaluation.

Below, we list the most common competencies and skills required by ADB professionals to prepare for the different selection processes:

  • Technical Expertise
  • Strong academic background
  • Prior experience in your profession
  • Multidisciplinary experience
  • Dynamism, innovation, creativity, integrity, teamwork, results-orientation and problem-solving capability
  • Sense of judgment, demonstrate a passion for working in a multi-lateral development institution and for working towards the development of Africa]
  • Proficiency in written and spoken English
  • Capability to adapt to a multicultural environment
  • Working knowledge of Microsoft operating systems (PowerPoint, Excel, Word, SAP, etc.)

AfDB Jobs - Interview

To exemplify AfDB’s interview mechanisms, we have used the AfDB YPP interview stage below. Note that other opportunities at the AfDB may vary slightly from this.

The AfDB interview process generally includes two stages: a) Personality Assessment Interview (online); b) On-Site Interview (AfDB’s HQ). The following sections will elucidate the differences between these two stages.

 1. Personality online assessment interview

The personality assessment AfDB interview is conducted online (by video conference) and functions as a pre-selection phase for long-listing candidates. This phase aims to identify the presence of soft skills and general aspects of the candidates’ personality.

2. On-Site Interview (AfDB’s Head Quarters).

 After the Online AfDB interview, the Short-Listed candidates are invited to the AfDB Head Quarter (Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire), with all related costs sponsored, to a panel interview. For the On-Site Interview, AfDB uses the traditional and technical interview model with the purpose of testing the candidates’ technical knowledge and their domain about the organization’s operations and objectives. 

Candidates are usually asked two types of questions:

  • Introductory and traditional questions (questions regarding the main motivation that led the candidate to apply for the AfDB or questions about their experience and employment history
  • Technical questions regarding their working area or development and Africa oriented

To help you feel more secure and greatly improve your performance during the AfDB YPP interview stage, OpenIGO Network has developed a mock interview, as per the AfDB YPP model, with a specialized professional who has extensive experience.

Click on the link below to find out more about our ADB YPP Mock Interview service:

AfDB Mock Interview

Current jobs

By continuing to browse this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read our privacy policy

I understand

Get updates and tips about the World Bank Internships!

Receive first-hand news and tips on the WB Internship, as well as exclusive offers from our products & services!